Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis

Participants

IUPUI Campus with Downtown indianapolis in the BackgroundINDI is based on the partnership of its participating faculty, and their associated centers, departments, and schools.  It is administered by a Leadership Team, with representation from its research thrust areas, and it is guided by an Advisory Board, with representation from its partnering units.

Currently, faculty from the Schools of Science, Engineering and Technology, Dentistry, Education, Liberal Arts, and Medicine, are associated with INDI. The given faculty have expertise in a wide range of fields, including chemistry, physics, biology, material science, electrical and computer engineering, mechanical engineering, orthopaedics, pathology and laboratory medicine, and STEM Education. 

The centers that INDI is currently partnering with consist of:

Leadership Team:

Mangilal Agarwal, Ph.D. Mangilal Agarwal, Ph.D.
Director
Professor of Mechanical and Energy Engineering
317-278-9792
agarwal@iupui.edu
Ricardo Decca, Ph.D. Ricardo Decca, Ph.D.
Professor of Physics
317-278-7123
rdecca@iupui.edu
Hazim El-Mounayri, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
317-278-3320
helmouna@iupui.edu
Christoph Naumann, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry & Chemical Biology
317-278-2512
naumann@chem.iupui.edu
Maher Rizkalla, Ph.D.
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
317-274-9719
mrizkall@iupui.edu
Likun Zhu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
317-274-4887
likzhu@iupui.edu
Tien-Min Gabriel Chu, Ph.D.
Professor of Biomedical and Applied Sciences
317-278-8716
tgchu@iupui.edu
Frederique Deiss, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Chemistry & Chemical Biology
317-278-5507
fdeiss@iupui.edu

 

Current Participating Faculty include:

Carlos L Andaluz, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Energy Engineering
317-274-2533
clarriba@iupui.edu
Robert Bacallao, MD
Professor of Medicine
317-278-0471
rbacalla@iupui.edu
Bonnie Blazer-Yost, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology
317-278-1145
bblazer@iupui.edu
Ruihua Cheng, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Physics
317-274-6902
rucheng@iupui.edu

Lauren Christopher, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
317-278-9156
lauchris@iupui.edu

Frederique Deiss, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Chemistry & Chemical Biology
317-278-5507
fdeiss@iupui.edu
Gregory K. Druschel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Earth Sciences
317-278-0722
gdrusche@iupui.edu
Mohamed El-Sharkawy
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
317-274-4559
melshark@iupui.edu
Gabriel Filippelli, Ph.D.
Professor of Earth Sciences
317-274-3795
gfilippe@iupui.edu
Afshin Izadian, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology
317-274-7881
aizadian@iupui.edu
Yogesh Joglekar, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Physics
317-274-6911
yojoglek@iupui.edu
Alan Jones, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Mechanical and Energy Engineering
317-274-9709
alsjones@iupui.edu
Hitesh Kathuria, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry/Biochemistry
765-973-8247
hikathur@iue.edu

Dongsoo Stephen Kim, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
317-274-9835
dskim@iupui.edu

Brian King, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
317-274-9723
briking@iupui.edu

Chien-Chi Lin
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
317-274-9723
briking@iupui.edu

Kieren J. Mather, MD
Professor of Medicine; Center for Diabetes and Metabolic Diseases
317-278-7826
kmather@iu.edu
Caroline Miller
Electron Microscopy Center Assistant Director
317-274-8730
caromil@iupui.edu

Raghu Mirmira, MD
Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics; Director, Diabetes Research Center
317-274-4145
mirmira@iupui.edu

Jomo Mutegi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Science Education
317-278-6864
jmutegi@iupui.edu
Sungsoo Na, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
317-278-2384
sungna@iupui.edu
Harikrishna Nakshatri, Ph.D.
Professor of Surgery; Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
317-278-2238
hnakshat@iupui.edu
Horia Petrache, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Physics
317-278-6521
hpetrach@iupui.edu
Peter J. Roach, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
317-274-1582
proach@iupui.edu

Paul Salama, Ph.D.
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
317-278-1682
psalama@iupui.edu

Rajesh Sardar, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry & Chemical Biology
317-278-2511
rsardar@iupui.edu

David Stocum, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology
317-274-0627
dstocum@iupui.edu
Andres Tovar
Associate Professor of Mechanical and Energy Engineering
317-278-7090
tovara@iupui.edu
Stephen Trippel, MD
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
317-278-6904
strippel@iupui.edu
Kody Varahramyan, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
317-274-1020
kvarahra@iupui.edu
Diane Wagner, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mechanical and Energy Engineering
317-274-8958
wagnerdi@iupui.edu
Joseph Wallace, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
317-274-2448
jmwalla@iupui.edu
Dong Xie, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
317-274-9748
dxie@iupui.edu
Jian Xie, Ph.D.
Professor of Mechanical and Energy Engineering
317-274-8850
jianxie@iupui.edu
Hiroki Yokota, Ph.D.
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
317-274-2448
hyokota@iupui.edu
Huidan (Whitney) Yu
Associate Professort of Mechanical and Energy Engineering
(317) 278-3410
whyu@iupui.edu
Jing Zhang, Ph.D.
Associate Professort of Mechanical and Energy Engineering
(317) 278-7186
jz29@iupui.edu
Likun Zhu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mechanical and Energy Engineering
317-274-4887
likzhu@iupui.edu

Hamid Dalir, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mechanical and Energy Engineering
317-278-4430
hdalir@iupui.edu

Amanda Siegel, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
317-274-3054
apsiegel@iupui.edu